Electronic Travel Authorisation (eTA)
With effect from January, 2024, Kenya is proud to be visa free country.
For a seamless trip to Kenya, travelers must now complete an Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) 72 hours prior to their travel.

The official eta website is www.etakenya.go.ke
apply for an etaExemptions
Things to Note:

ETA applications must be made through https://www.etakenya.go.ke/en/evisa.html only.

Please note that there are no eTAs issued on arrival.


Persons who are Exempted from obtaining an Electronic Travel Authorisation
  1. Holders of valid Kenya Passports or one-way Emergency Certificate issued by Kenya Missions abroad.
  2. Holders of Kenya Permanent Residence, valid Work Permits and Passes.
  3. Holders of valid United Nation Conventional Travel Document issued by the Government of Kenya.
  4. Members of the Diplomatic Missions and International Organizations Accredited to Kenya.
  5. Citizens of the East African Partner States: These countries include Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. (Exempted for Six (6) months)
  6. All passengers in transit through Kenya arriving and leaving by the same aircraft or transferring to another aircraft and who do not leave the precincts of Airports in Kenya.
  7. All passengers arriving and leaving by the same ship, and who do not leave the ship.
  8. Members of crew of any ship, aircraft, train, vehicle or carrier; whose name and particulars are included in the crew manifest of the ship, aircraft or carrier; and who is proceeding in such ship, aircraft or carrier to a destination outside Kenya.
  9. Owners of private aircraft stopping over for refueling in Kenya and who do not leave the precincts of the airport.
Persons who will Apply for ETA, but are exempted from paying
  1. Holders of Diplomatic, Official or Service Passports on official duty.
  2. Holders of the following Laissez-Passers while on official business:
    • United Nations Organization
    • African Union
    • African Development Bank (A.D.B)
    • Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa
    • International Red Locust Control Organization for Central and Southern Africa
    • Desert Locust Control Organization
    • COMESA
    • International Monetary Fund and World Bank
    • Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD)
    • International Airlines Travel Association (IATA)
    • Environment Liaison Centre International (ELCI)
    • Union of Radio, Television Network of Africa (URTNA) International Labour Organization (ILO)
    • European Union
    • CIP (International Potato Centre)
    • African Reinsurance Corporation (ARC)
    • African Housing Fund (AHF)

  3. Union of Comoros
  4. The Republic of Congo (Brazzaville)
  5. Eritrea
  6. Ethiopia
  7. Mozambique
  8. San Marino
  9. South Africa

    10. Namibia

    11. Botswana

    12. Eswatini

    13. Gambia

    14. Ghana

    15. Lesotho

    16. Malawi

    17. Mauritius

    18. Sierra Leone

    19. Zambia

    20. Zimbabwe
For more information on travel to Kenya based on nationalities, please visit www.immigration.go.ke

This website provides comprehensive details on all immigration services provided by the Department of Immigration of Kenya in Nairobi including but not limited to work permit, passes, citizenship, other immigration services and frequently asked questions (F.A.Qs)

Visa applicants who intend to undertake an internship/ placement and volunteer work in Kenya are further required to liaise with their host organizations/ companies in Kenya to make application for the appropriate authorization to the Director of Immigration Services (P.O. Box 30191, Nairobi. Telephone +254-222022) prior to their engagement in the respective attachments.